Explore the territory 

Physical environment

Located in the Appalachian Natural Province, the territory of the natural corridor is part of the natural extension of Mont-Orford National Park. From Miller Lake to Mont-Orford National Park, the territory is characterized by mountains and lakes including Brompton, Larouche, Brais, Miller, Fraser and Stukely lakes as well as a few other smaller lakes. The long, thin shape of some lakes, such as Bowker Lake, is the result of glacial erosion from the last ice age around 10,000 years ago.

 

In the center of the territory, in the north-south axis, we note the presence of an escarpment zone bordered on each side by undulating terrain. These escarpments correspond to deep breaks in a super-continent into continental islands, around 600 million years ago, creating large ditches. We are thus witnessing a new cycle of opening and closing of an ocean, that of the Iapetus Ocean. In our natural corridor, the limit between the sagging continent and the Iapetus ocean floor can be followed from Mansonville in Estrie to Port-Daniel in Gaspésie. This geological limit is the most significant fault in the territory and is called the “Brompton-Baie-Verte line”.

From 560 to 540 million years ago, sedimentary and volcanic rocks were deposited in the ditch closest to the landmass of North America. This ditch crosses the natural salmon river corridor. You can see the remains in the area extending from Richmond to Sutton in the Eastern Townships. Curiously, geologists have found that the landscape resembles that of Djibouti in Ethiopia, at the northeast end of the African continent!

 

Between 500 and 450 million years ago, the movement of continental plates reversed: it was the partial closure of the Iapetus Ocean. When this ocean closed, part of the ocean floor was trapped between two continental plates, thus giving rise to the Appalachian mountain range. Mount Orford is one of the remains of the disappeared ocean floor.

Geomorphology

The bottom of the ocean Iapetus is responsible for the establishment of a band of metamorphic rocks, slate, which is found along the Brompton-Baie-Verte line. This strip of slate crosses the watershed of the Rivière au Salmon in its north-south axis. Slate was popular in the area and mined at the end of the 19th century in the townships of the Township of Melbourne, Rockland and Kingsbury. It was exported to several regions of Quebec until 1912 and was used, among other things, to cover the roofs of buildings.

 

Along this strip of slate, we observe the presence of outcrops of serpentine also coming from the bottom of the ocean Iapetus. These outcrops give the natural environment a special interest. Serpentine is a metamorphic rock that contains high concentrations of metals toxic to flora, such as magnesium, cobalt, nickel and iron. On the other hand, its concentrations of nutrients sought by plants, such as calcium, potassium, nitrogen and silicon, are poor. This lack of nutrients promotes the growth of plant species specific to serpentine outcrops. These particular plant species are rare in the Estrie region, in Quebec and worldwide, because this rock formation totals less than 1% of the Earth’s surface.

Natural landscape

Although recreational, agricultural and forestry activities take place in the area, the Rivière au Salmon watershed has retained a large part of its natural attractions, which gives it significant ecological value. Dominated by the forest (84%) and not very fragmented, the territory has a variety of natural environments such as lakes, rivers, wetlands and agricultural environments.

 

The largest river in the corridor is the Salmon River which is fed by eighteen lakes and twelve rivers. 22 kilometers long, it rises at the outlet of Lake Brompton, which is located at the foot of the Mont-Orford massif. Its mouth is located in the flood zone of the Saint-François river. The main rivers that feed it are Gulf, Miller, Ély, Des Vases and Horse streams. The salmon river crosses the territory in the north-south axis, largely in the forest environment, which allowed it to keep a "wild" aspect. It is bordered on each side by hardwoods offering a complete change of scenery.

 

Among the major lakes on the territory, Lake Brompton ranks first. Covering 1,191 hectares and 11.5 meters deep, it is supplied by nine tributaries. Lake Stukely occupies second place with an area of ​​386 hectares and a depth of 14 meters. Lake Bowker comes in third place with an area of ​​231 hectares and an exceptional depth of 59 meters. This peculiarity results from the last glacial erosion.

Several lakes and streams in the Salmon River watershed are of interest to many fishermen. Various spawning grounds have been identified, including brook trout, rainbow trout, brown trout, speckled trout, walleye, pike, yellow perch, longnose sucker and 'bass. Wetlands, marshes, swamps, ponds and peat bogs are numerous on the territory: thirty-nine sites of more than 1 hectare have been listed.

 

They are exceptional places for their rich biodiversity and precious for hundreds of wildlife species that find shelter, food and breeding grounds there. They are also essential to the health of the territory's lakes and streams: they protect their banks from erosion, they control floods, they regulate water levels and filter the water in the territory by retaining sediments in suspension. Among the remarkable wetlands of the territory, let us mention the Brompton Lake marsh and the Kingsbury marsh which are recognized as "areas of concentration of aquatic birds" by the Quebec Ministry of Natural Resources and Wildlife.

Biodiversité

The great diversity of natural environments favors the presence of numerous wildlife and plant species, many of which are threatened, vulnerable or rare. Inventories carried out throughout the territory and on targeted properties have enabled us to identify species with precarious status and to propose solutions for their protection.

Forest communities

The stands in the Rivière au Saumon watershed are typical of the bioclimatic zone of the sugar maple-lime forest area, which partly makes up the northern temperate vegetation zone. For example, forest stands are mainly dominated by maple stands associated with hardwoods, such as the hickory hickory, butternut, red oak and Virginia oyster or softwood. These vary according to different factors, such as topography, drainage, soil geology and the local micro-climate. For example, along the Salmon River we find a forest environment characterized by sugar maple and yellow birch accompanied by large-leaved beech, butternut, Virginia oyster, white ash 'America, red oak and late cherry. On dry, bare rock outcrops of humus-rich soil are hemlock, red and white pine forests.

 

Wetlands are often colonized by black spruce, tamarack, red maple and western white cedar. We can observe in regenerating areas, the presence of poplars, white birches and white and red spruce. These tree species are accompanied by shrubs, such as rough alder, balsam clam, narrow-leaved kalmia and broad-leaved spirea.

 

There are twelve exceptional forest ecosystems (EFE) in the watershed of the Rivière au Saumon, one old forest, five rare forests and six refuge forests. Old growth forests are characterized by the presence of trees that are well past maturity or have been little affected by human activity. Rare forests have a particular composition in plant species. They can also be rare because of their structure or their location. We are thinking here of red pine forests in their natural state located on serpentine outcrops. The majority of these rare forest ecosystems have disappeared as a result of human activities. Finally, refuge forests are forests where there are rare, threatened, vulnerable or vulnerable flora species.

Our Flora

The stands of this bioclimatic zone are accompanied by herbaceous species typical of the deciduous forests of southern Quebec. In the rich maple groves as well as in the cool woods and in the shade, the species most often found are the sanguinary of Canada, the mountain oxalide, the Greenland coptide, the caulophylle false pigamon, the dogwood of Canada, the Canadian mayanthemum, the pink streptope, the American erythrona and the erect trill. It is in wetlands that we find the greatest diversity of herbaceous plants, that is to say an abundance of species of sedges, grasses, ferns and other plants adapted to live in or near the water. The undergrowth of our territory contains a large quantity of small native plants, mosses, lichens and wild mushrooms.

 

Thus, the diversity of our forest environment composed of both mixed hardwoods and conifers promotes the growth of fungi of all kinds. Thus, we can discover several species of boletus, chanterelles, amanites, oyster mushrooms and russules.

Our fauna

Mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians are all present in large numbers in the natural corridor of the Rivière au Salmon watershed. More than thirty mammals are represented there and circulate in the valley of the Gulf brook and the valley of the Rivière au Salmon, little fragmented forest areas of the territory. Among these are the black bear, the moose and the white-tailed deer.

 

Other rarer species such as the fisher, the mink and the bobcat take advantage of these large areas of forest to find shelter, refuge and food. A walk in the forest can detect the presence of the red fox, the muskrat, the beaver, the porcupine, the snowshoe hare and several small mammals. The avian fauna present in this important natural area is added to the many mammalian species. Over 190 species of birds have been observed within the boundaries of the Salmon River watershed.

 

The diversity of the forest environment as well as the presence of agricultural zones and wetlands on the territory provide the various avian species with the conditions necessary to nest, take refuge and feed. Inventories have confirmed the presence of sixty species of nesting birds in the territory. Among these, we find, among others, the peregrine falcon, the Cooper's hawk, the great horned owl, the great woodpecker, the scarlet tanager, the harrier Saint-Martin, the ruffed grouse and the little boreal owl.

Amphibians and reptiles also occupy a prominent place in or near wetlands. More than 20 species have been inventoried there, including 16 amphibians (frogs and salamanders) and 6 reptiles (snakes and turtles). Anurans, such as the green frog, the bullfrog and the American toad, are the easiest amphibians to spot. They stand out for their song during spring and summer. Salamanders, on the other hand, are rather discreet: they are well hidden under stones, decaying logs or along streams. We think here of the spotted salamander, the two-line salamander or the green newt. Regarding reptiles, the wood turtle, the painted turtle and the snapping turtle can be observed in wetlands and in certain lakes. Under the many rocks or tree trunks of the forest environment, you can observe the garter snake, the red-bellied snake and the grass snake.

Our species at risk 

The Salmon River watershed is characterized by a slightly fragmented forest environment. Several rare, threatened or vulnerable species have been identified there during the inventories. The presence of these fauna and flora species is an indicator of the quality of the forest and aquatic habitats in the territory. According to the Act respecting threatened and vulnerable species in Quebec and according to the Committee on Species at Risk in Canada (COSEWIC), wildlife and plant species are in decline at regional, provincial or national level. They require special attention. The bald eagle, the peregrine falcon and the red-shouldered hawk are three raptors whose status is precarious.

 

The marsh frog, the purple salamander, the northern dusky salamander and the wood turtle are among the amphibian and reptile species for which conservation measures should be considered. Their presence in certain rivers in the territory is an excellent indicator of the quality of the aquatic environment. Finally, among mammals, the bobcat is a species likely to be designated threatened or vulnerable by Quebec. Rare and insecure plant species include green mountain asbestos, a fern typical of serpentine outcrops, as well as wild garlic, five-leaved ginseng, Bailey sedge and white trillium.

buse_queuerousse.jpg

Explorer le territoire 

Milieu physique

Situé dans la province naturelle des Appalaches, le territoire du corridor naturel s’insère dans le prolongement naturel du Parc national du Mont-Orford. Du lac Miller jusqu’au Parc national du  Mont-Orford, le territoire est caractérisé par des montagnes et des lacs dont les lacs Brompton, Larouche, Brais, Miller, Fraser et Stukely ainsi que quelques autres lacs de plus petites superficies. La forme longue et mince de certains lacs tels que le lac Bowker, est le résultat de l’érosion glaciaire provenant de la dernière période glaciaire il y a environ 10,000 ans.

Au centre du territoire, dans l’axe nord-sud,  on note la présence d’une zone d’escarpements bordée de chaque côté par des terrains onduleux. Ces escarpements correspondent à de profondes cassures d’un super-continent en îlots continentaux, il y a environ 600 millions d’années, créant ainsi de grands fossés. On assiste alors à un nouveau cycle d’ouverture et de fermeture d’un océan, celui de l’océan Iapétus. Dans notre corridor naturel, la limite entre le continent affaissé et le fonds océanique Iapétus peut être suivi depuis Mansonville en Estrie jusqu’à Port-Daniel en Gaspésie. Cette limite géologique est la plus importante faille du territoire et porte le nom de «  ligne Brompton-Baie-Verte  ». 

De 560 à 540 million d’années, des roches sédimentaires et volcaniques se déposent dans le fossé situé le plus près de la masse continentale de l’Amérique du Nord. Ce fossé traverse le corridor naturel de la rivière au Saumon.  On peut y voir les vestiges dans le secteur s’étendant de Richmond à Sutton en Estrie. Curieusement, les géologues ont constaté que le paysage ressemble à celui de Djibouti en Éthiopie, à l’extrémité nord-est du continent africain! 

Entre 500 et 450 millions d’années, le mouvement des plaques continentales s’inversent: c’est la fermeture partielle de l’océan Iapétus. Lors de la fermeture de cet océan, une partie du fond océanique s’est retrouvée coincé entre deux plaques continentales, donnant ainsi naissance à la chaîne des montagnes appalachiennes. Le mont Orford est un des vestiges du fond océanique disparu.

Géomorphologie

Le fond de l’océan Iapétus est responsable de la mise en place d’une bande de roches métamorphiques, l’ardoise, que l’on retrouve le long de la ligne Brompton-Baie-Verte. Cette bande d’ardoise traverse le bassin versant de la rivière au Saumon dans son axe nord-sud. L’ardoise fut populaire dans la région et exploitée à la fin du 19e siècle dans les municipalités du Canton de Melbourne, de Rockland  et de Kingsbury.  Elle a été exportée dans plusieurs régions du Québec jusqu’en 1912 et elle a servi, entre autres, à recouvrir les toitures de bâtiments.

Le long de cette bande d’ardoise, on constate la présence d’affleurements de serpentine issus également du fonds de l’océan  Lapétus. Ces affleurements confèrent au milieu naturel un intérêt particulier. La serpentine est une roche métamorphique qui contient des concentrations élevées de métaux toxiques pour la flore, tels que le magnésium, le cobalt, le nickel et le fer. Par contre, ses concentrations en éléments nutritifs recherchés par les plantes, tels que le calcium, le potassium, l’azote et le silicium, sont pauvres. Cette absence d’éléments nutritifs favorise la croissance d’espèces végétales spécifiques aux affleurements de serpentine. Ces espèces floristiques particulières sont rares dans la région de l’Estrie, au Québec et sur le plan mondial, car cette formation rocheuse totalise moins de 1% de la surface de la Terre.

Biodiversité

La grande diversité des milieux naturels favorise la présence de nombreuses espèces fauniques et floristiques dont plusieurs d’entre elles sont menacées, vulnérables ou rares. Des inventaires effectués sur l’ensemble du territoire et sur des propriétés ciblées nous ont permis de recenser des espèces à statut précaire et de proposer des solutions quant à leur protection.

Notre milieu forestier

Les peuplements du bassin versant de la rivière au Saumon sont typiques de la zone bioclimatique du domaine de l’érablière à tilleul qui compose en partie la zone végétale tempérée nordique. Ainsi, les peuplements forestiers sont majoritairement dominés par des érablières associées à des feuillus, tels que le caryer cordiforme, le noyer cendré, le chêne rouge et l’ostryer de Virginie ou des résineux. Ceux-ci varient selon différents facteurs, tels que la topographie, le drainage, la géologie des sols et le micro-climat local. Par exemple, le long de la rivière au Saumon on retrouve un milieu forestier caractérisé par de l’érable à sucre et du bouleau jaune accompagnés par du hêtre à grandes feuilles, du noyer cendré, de l’ostryer de Virginie, du frêne blanc d’Amérique, du chêne rouge et du cerisier tardif. Sur les affleurements rocheux secs et dénudés d’un sol riche en humus, on retrouve des prucheraies, des pinèdes rouges et des pins blancs.


Les milieux humides quant à eux, sont souvent colonisés par l’épinette noir, le mélèze laricin,  l’érable rouge et le thuya occidental.  On peut observer dans des secteurs en régénération, la présence de peupliers, de bouleaux blancs et d’épinettes blanches et rouges. Ces espèces arborescentes sont accompagnées d’arbustes, tels que l’aulne rugueux, le myrique baumier, le kalmia à feuille étroite et la spirée à larges feuilles.

On retrouve sur le territoire du bassin versant de la rivière au Saumon, douze écosystèmes forestiers exceptionnels (EFE), soit une forêt ancienne, cinq forêts rares et six forêts refuges. Les forêts anciennes sont caractérisées par la présence d’arbres qui ont largement dépassé l’âge de la maturité ou qui ont été peu touchés par des activités humaines. Les forêts rares ont une composition particulière en espèces végétales. Elles peuvent également être rares à cause de leur structure ou de leur localisation. On pense ici  à des pinèdes rouges à l’état naturel localisées sur des affleurements de serpentine. La majorité de ces écosystèmes forestiers rares sont disparus sous l’effet des activités anthropiques. Finalement, les forêts refuges sont les forêts où l’on retrouve des espèces floristiques rares, menacées, vulnérables ou susceptibles de l’être. 

Notre flore

Les peuplements de cette zone bioclimatique sont accompagnés par des espèces herbacées typiques des forêts décidues du Québec méridional. Dans les érablières riches ainsi que dans les boisés frais et à l’ombre, les espèces retrouvées le plus souvent sont la sanguinaire du Canada, l’oxalide de montagne, le coptide du Groenland, le caulophylle faux-pigamon, le cornouiller du Canada, le maïanthème du Canada, la streptope rose, l’érythrone d’Amérique et le trille dressé.


C’est dans les milieux humides que l’on retrouve la plus grande diversité de plantes herbacées, c'est-à-dire une abondance d’espèces de carex, de graminées, de fougères et d’autres plantes adaptées pour vivre dans ou près de l’eau.


Les sous-bois de notre territoire recèlent une grande quantité de petites plantes indigènes, de mousses, de lichens et de champignons sauvages. Ainsi, la mixité de notre milieu forestier composé à la fois de feuillus mélangés et de résineux favorise la croissance de champignons de toutes sortes. Ainsi, on peut y découvrir plusieurs espèces de bolets, de chanterelles, d’amanites, de pleurotes et de russules. 


Notre faune

Mammifères, oiseaux, reptiles  et amphibiens sont tous présents en grand nombre dans le corridor naturel du bassin versant de la rivière au Saumon. Plus d’une trentaine de  mammifères y sont représentés et circulent dans la vallée du ruisseau Gulf et la vallée de la rivière au Saumon, des zones forestières peu fragmentées du territoire. Parmi ceux-ci, on retrouve l'ours noir, l'orignal et le cerf de Virginie. D’autres espèces plus rares comme le pékan, le vison et le lynx roux profitent de ces grandes superficies forestières pour y trouver abri, refuge et nourriture. Une promenade en forêt permet de déceler la présence du renard roux, du rat musqué, du castor, du porc-épic, du lièvre d’Amérique et de plusieurs petits mammifères.

La faune aviaire présente dans cette importante aire naturelle s’ajoute aux nombreuses espèces de mammifères. Plus de 190 espèces d’oiseaux ont été observées dans les limites du bassin versant de la rivière au Saumon.  La diversité du milieu forestier ainsi que la présence de zones agricoles et de milieux humides sur le territoire procurent aux différentes espèces aviaires les conditions nécessaires pour nicher, se réfugier et se nourrir. Des inventaires ont confirmé la présence de soixante espèces d’oiseaux nicheurs sur le territoire. Parmi celles-ci,  on retrouve, entre autres, le faucon pèlerin, l’épervier de Cooper, le grand-duc d’Amérique, le grand pic, le tangara écarlate, le busard Saint-Martin, la gélinotte huppée et la petite nyctale.

Les amphibiens et les reptiles occupent également une place de choix dans les milieux humides ou à proximité de ceux-ci. Plus de 20 espèces y ont été inventoriées dont 16 amphibiens  (grenouilles et salamandres) et 6 reptiles (couleuvres et tortues). Les anoures, telles que  la grenouille verte, le ouaouaron et le crapaud d’Amérique, sont les amphibiens les plus faciles à déceler. Ils se font remarquer par leur chant au cours du printemps et de l’été. Les salamandres, quant à elles, sont plutôt discrètes: elles sont bien cachées sous des pierres, des bûches en décomposition ou le long des ruisseaux. On pense ici à la salamandre maculée, la salamandre à deux-lignes ou le triton vert. En ce qui concerne les reptiles, la tortue des bois, la tortue peinte et la tortue serpentine peuvent être observées dans les milieux humides et dans certains lacs. Sous les nombreuses roches ou troncs d’arbres du milieu forestier, vous pouvez observer la couleuvre rayée, la couleuvre à ventre rouge et la couleuvre à collier.

Nos espèces à statut précaire

Le bassin versant de la rivière au Saumon est caractérisé par un milieu forestier peu fragmenté. Plusieurs espèces rares, menacées ou vulnérables y ont été identifiées lors des inventaires. La présence de ces espèces fauniques et floristiques est indicatrice de la qualité des habitats forestiers et aquatiques du territoire.



Selon la Loi sur les espèces menacées et vulnérables au Québec et selon le Comité sur les espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC), des espèces fauniques et floristiques sont en déclin au niveau régional, provincial ou national. Elles nécessitent une attention particulière. Le pygargue à tête blanche, le faucon pèlerin et la buse à épaulettes sont trois rapaces dont le statut est précaire. La grenouille des marais, la salamandre pourpre, la salamandre sombre du Nord et la tortue des bois font partie des espèces d’amphibiens et de reptiles pour lesquelles des mesures de conservation doivent être considérées. Leur présence dans certains cours d’eau du territoire est un excellent indicateur de la qualité du milieu aquatique. Enfin, parmi les mammifères, le lynx roux est une espèce susceptible d’être désignée menacée ou vulnérable par le Québec.

Parmi les espèces floristiques rares et à statut précaire, mentionnons l’adiante des montagnes vertes, une fougère typique des affleurements de serpentine, ainsi que l’ail des bois, le ginseng à cinq folioles, le carex de Bailey et le trille blanc.