Madakik Nature Reserve (Canton of Melbourne) 

Madakik.jpg

The 7.34 ha (18.14 acre) Madakik Nature Reserve (township of Melbourne) was acquired in 2003. It is crossed from west to east by the Salmon River and protects the flood plain and its bed river. The territory, marked by the agriculture that was practiced there, is characterized by various wasteland, including a riparian arboreal wasteland, a stand of hardwoods and conifers and some wetlands.

This natural reserve shelters:

• 1 1 7 plant species, including species dependent on aquatic environments,

• 2 species in precarious situation,

• 2 species vulnerable to harvest, and • around sixty wild species, including three species in precarious situations.

 

The moose and the red fox occasionally cross the nature reserve.

Ruisseau-Gulf Nature Reserve (Racine)

Ruisseau Gulf.jpg

The Ruisseau-Gulf nature reserve (Racine, 27.8 ha [68.7 acres]) was acquired in 2004. It straddles part of the Flodden hillside refuge forest. In fact, more than half of the territory is part of this exceptional yellow birch sugar bush. The nature reserve is characterized by a rugged valley between two hills where there are outcrops of serpentine. The territory protects the source of Gulf Creek, three forest stands and an open environment that remains of an old pasture. Many of the protected natural areas in this reserve constitute quality habitats, especially for salamanders.

 

The nature reserve is home to:

• more than 94 plant species, including two species in precarious situations and one species vulnerable to harvesting.

• About 35 wildlife species, including three species in precarious situations.

White-tailed deer and moose occasionally pass through the nature reserve

Lac Brais Nature Reserve (Racine)

Lac Brais.jpg

The Lac-Brais nature reserve (Racine, 101.8 ha [251.6 acres]) was acquired in three stages in 2005 (Ferme Patris), in 2006 (Thorel-Germain) and in 2007 (Fermes Jacques Dupont). It partially covers two hills and the valley of one of the main tributaries of Lac Brais. The relief is uneven and the rock outcrops frequent. The territory protects three tributaries of Lac Brais, a dozen forest stands, including several maple groves, a fallow remains of the agricultural use of the territory, a typical agricultural field, as well as some shrub swamps and herbaceous wet meadows.

 

The nature reserve is home to:

• more than 110 plant species, including 62 herbaceous species and some species of mosses and lichens,

• more than a hundred wildlife species, including species dependent on aquatic environments,

• about fifty species of birds, and

• two species of amphibians in a precarious situation.

Coyotes, black bears and moose occasionally pass through the nature reserve.

Bran-de-scie Lake Nature Reserve (Canton of Orford)

Lac Bran-de-scie.jpg

The Bran-de-scie Lake (18.9 ha [46.7 acres]) was acquired in two stages: by an ecological gift from Mrs. Thibert in 2005 and from a purchase by Mrs. Thibert in 2007. This reserve is located in a deep valley where flows , among others, the main tributary of Lake Bran de Scie. It protects four forest stands, including a cedar where there are centenarians, a wet meadow, a large beaver pond and a fallow land, a remnant of agricultural activities. Wetlands and aquatic environments provide quality habitats for amphibians.

 

The nature reserve is home to:

• 55 plant species, including two species vulnerable to harvest,

• more than 70 species of fauna, including nearly 50 species of nesting birds and

• three species of amphibians in a precarious situation.

 

White-tailed deer and moose occasionally pass through the nature reserve.

The Cleveland Oak Forest (Canton of Cleveland)

Forêt_de_Cleveland.jpg

The Cleveland Oak Forest (Canton of Cleveland, 22 ha [54.3 acres]) was acquired in 2008. The rare Cleveland forest corresponds to a small stand of red oak. It occupies the top part of a low hill where the sugar maple oak grove meets the maple groves encountered on the slopes. The presence of a red oak grove in the vicinity of the municipality of Cleveland is quite unusual.

  

Although one can still meet sporadically the red oak in the sub-domain of the maple grove with lime of the East, the presence of an oak forest Cleveland oak forest in the heart of the region of Estrie can be considered exceptional. It is, in fact, a peripheral location compared to the current distribution of this type of oak grove in Quebec. This red oak grove is an exceptional forest ecosystem for Quebec because of the great rarity of this type of forest within the eastern maple-linden sub-domain and its excellent state of preservation. (MMNRFP). The acquisition fund was established with: MDDEP, FHQE, Environment Canada and Fondation EJLB. In 2008, the SCCNRS set up for the first time a backup fund made up of: Toyota Richmond, Gabriel Couture et fils, Caisse populaire Desjardins Richmond and several private donors from Val -Saint-François.

Réserve naturelle Madakik (Canton de Melbourne) 

La réserve naturelle de Madakik (canton de Melbourne) de 7,34 ha (18,14 acres) a été acquise en 2003. Elle est traversée d'ouest en est par la rivière au Saumon et protège la plaine inondable et le lit de cette rivière. Le territoire, marqué par l'agriculture qui y était pratiquée, se caractérise par diverses friches, dont une friche arboricole riveraine, un peuplement de feuillus et de conifères et quelques zones humides.

 

Cette réserve naturelle abrite:

 

•1 1 7 espèces végétales, y compris les espèces dépendantes des milieux aquatiques, 

• 2 espèces en situation précaire, 

• 2 espèces vulnérables à la récolte, et 

• une soixantaine d'espèces sauvages, dont trois espèces en situation de précarité.

 

L'orignal et le renard roux traversent occasionnellement la réserve naturelle.

Réserve naturelle du Ruisseau-Gulf (Racine)

La réserve naturelle du Ruisseau-Gulf (Racine, 27,8 ha [68,7 acres]) a été acquise en 2004. Elle chevauche une partie de la forêt refuge du coteau de Flodden. En fait, plus de la moitié du territoire fait partie de cette érablière à bouleau jaune exceptionnelle. La réserve naturelle est caractérisée par une vallée à relief accidenté entre deux collines où l’on observe des affleurements de serpentine. Le territoire protège la source du ruisseau Gulf, trois peuplements forestiers et un milieu ouvert vestige d’un ancien pâturage. Bon nombre de milieux naturels protégés dans cette réserve constituent des habitats de qualité, tout particulièrement pour les salamandres. 

La réserve naturelle abrite : 

  • • plus de 94 espèces floristiques, dont deux espèces en situation précaire et une espèce vulnérable à la récolte. 

  • • Environ 35 espèces fauniques, dont trois espèces en situation précaire. 

Le cerf de Virginie et l’orignal transitent occasionnellement par la réserve naturelle 

Réserve naturelle du lac Brais (Racine)

La réserve naturelle du Lac-Brais (Racine, 101,8 ha [251,6 acres]) a été acquise en trois temps en 2005 (Ferme Patris), en 2006 (Thorel-Germain) et en 2007 (Fermes Jacques Dupont). Elle couvre partiellement deux collines et la vallée d’un des principaux tributaires du lac Brais. Le relief y est accidenté et les affleurements rocheux fréquents. Le territoire protège trois tributaires du lac Brais, une douzaine de peuplements forestiers, dont plusieurs érablières, une friche vestige de l’usage agricole du territoire, un champ agricole typique, de même que quelques marécages arbustifs et prairies humides herbacées. 

La réserve naturelle abrite : 

• plus de 110 espèces floristiques, dont 62 espèces d’herbacées et quelques espèces de mousses et de lichens, 

• plus d’une centaine d’espèces fauniques, dont des espèces inféodées aux milieux aquatiques, 

• une cinquantaine d’espèces d’oiseaux, et 

• deux espèces d’amphibiens en situation précaire. 

 

Le coyote, l’ours noir et l’orignal transitent occasionnellement par la réserve naturelle. 

Réserve du lac Bran-de-scie

La réserve naturelle du Lac-Bran-de-Scie (Canton Orford,

18,9 ha [46,7 acres]) a été acquise en deux temps : par un don écologique de Mme Thibert en 2005 et d’un achat de Mme Thibert en 2007. Cette réserve est localisée dans une vallée encaissée où s’écoule, entre autres, le principal tributaire du lac Bran de Scie. Elle protège quatre peuplements forestiers, dont une cédrière où l’on trouve des individus centenaires, une prairie humide, un grand étang de castor et une friche herbacée, vestige d’activités agricoles. Les milieux humides et aquatiques y constituent des habitats de qualité pour les amphibiens. 

La réserve naturelle abrite : 

• 55 espèces floristiques, notamment deux espèces vulnérables à la récolte, 

• plus de 70 espèces fauniques, dont près de 50 espèces d’oiseaux nicheurs et 

• trois espèces d’amphibiens en situation précaire. 

 

Le cerf de Virginie et l’orignal transitent occasionnellement par la réserve naturelle. 

La forêt de chêne de Cleveland (Canton de Cleveland)

La forêt de chênes de Cleveland (Canton de Cleveland, 22 ha [54,3 acres ] ) a été acquise en 2008. La forêt rare de Cleveland correspond à un petit peuplement de chêne rouge. Elle occupe la partie sommitale d’une basse colline où la chênaie à érable à sucre côtoie les érablières rencontrées sur les versants. La présence d’une chênaie rouge dans les environs de la municipalité de Cleveland est assez inusitée.

 

Bien que l'on puisse encore rencontrer sporadiquement le chêne rouge dans le sous- domaine de l ’érablière à tilleul de l’Est, la présence d'une chênaie Forêt de chênes de Cleveland au coeur de la région de l’Estrie peut être considérée comme exceptionnelle. Il s'agit, en effet, d'une localisation périphérique par rapport à la répartition actuelle de ce type de chênaie au Québec. Cette chênaie rouge est un écosystème forestier exceptionnel pour le Québec en raison de la grande rareté de ce type de forêt au sein du sous-domaine de l’érablière à tilleul de l’Est et de son excellent état de préservation. (MMNRFP ). Le fonds d’acquisition a été constitué avec : MDDEP, FHQE, Environnement Canada et Fondation EJLB. En 2008, la SCCNRS a constitué pour la pre mière fois un fonds de sauvegarde constitué avec : Toyota Richmond, Gabriel Couture et fils, Caisse populaire Desjardins Richmond et plusieurs donateurs particuliers du Val -Saint- François.